HOME Connect to Daily Editions @ Berlin - MIPTV - Cannes - MIPCOM - AFM
Cannes 2014 Bumper Edition - DAILY EDITIONS - Interactive PG - Interactive Magazine - QR Printed Magazine
Films Currently
On Screens
World Wide

Click to view

Click to view website

Click to Reel Tunes

Keep In Touch With Home
View World Newspapers
Sydney Morning Herald
The Toronto Star
China Times
Le Figaro
Die Welt
Ming Pao
The Times of India
The Jerusalem Post
La Repubblica
The Japan Times
New Zealand Herald
La Vanguardia
Dagens Nyheter
Financial Times
New York Times
Send Cannes Press Releases to: press@thebusinessoffilm.com
Jane Campion President Of The Cannes Jury & The Team

Jane Campion - President (Director, Screenwriter, Producer - New Zealand) Carole BOUQUET (Actress - France) Sofia COPPOLA (Director, Screenwriter, Producer - United States) Leila HATAMI (Actress - Iran) JEON Do-yeon (Actress - South Korea) Willem DAFOE (Actor - United States) Gael GARCIA BERNAL (Actor, Director, Producer - Mexico) JIA Zhangke (Director, Screenwriter, Producer - China) Nicolas Winding REFN (Director, Screenwriter, Producer - Denmark)

Abbas Kiarostami From Iran
President Of The Cinefondation

Abbas Kiarostami & The Jury
The 2014 Cinefondation and Short Films Jury will be presided by Abbas Kiarostami (Iran), with directors Noemie Lvovsky (France), Daniela Thomas (Brazil), Mahamat-Saleh Haroun (Chad), and Joachim Trier (Norway).
The international group of directors will be selecting the three films to be awarded from the films submitted by students from film schools around the world presented in the Cinefondation Selection.
For 2014, the Selection Committee received 3,450 short films, representing 128 production countries. Just nine films will compete for the Short Film Palme d'or, to be awarded by Abbas Kiarostami, at the Awards Ceremony on Saturday, May 24th. At the ceremony on Thursday 22nd May, the Cinefondation prizes will be announced by the Jury followed by a screening of the winning films. The Jury will also decide the Short Film Palme d'Or to be awarded at the prize-giving ceremony on Saturday 24th May.
Proud To Take Part
Un Certain Regard President Pablo Trapero

Pablo Trapero
Argentinian scriptwriter, producer and director, Pablo Trapero, will preside over the Jury for Un Certain Regard, Official Selection of the Festival de Cannes.
Trapero stated: "I am very proud to serve as President of the Jury for Un Certain Regard; proud to take part in another way in the adventure in Cannes. Un Certain Regard, where I have presented three of my films, is always a very exciting selection. It brings us grand masters, promising young talent, new countries and new forms of cinema."
Born in Argentina in 1971, Pablo Trapero's first feature film Mundo Grua received the Critics' Award at the Venice Film Festival in 1999. His second, El Bonaerense, was selected in 2002 at the Festival de Cannes (Un Certain Regard). In 2008, Leonera, screened in Competition at the Festival de Cannes, revealed the exceptional talent of actress Martina Gusman. Carancho (2010) and Elefante blanco (2012), critically acclaimed internationally, were both presented in Un Certain Regard. Each of Trapero's films portrays a harsh social reality in an almost documentary style, through a plot that is akin to a thriller and offers an uncompromising look at contemporary political issues.
In 2002, Pablo Trapero founded Matanza Cine, an independent company that produces projects from young Argentinian filmmakers, in particular Lisandro Alonso (La Libertad), Enrique Bellande and Raul Perrone.
Pablo Trapero follows Thomas Vinterberg, who presided over last year's Jury for Un Certain Regard, which presented the award to the Franco-Cambodian film L'Image manquante (The Missing Picture), by Rithy Panh. The winner of the Prize for Un Certain Regard will be announced on Friday, May 23, on the eve of the 67th Festival closing night awards ceremony, which will take place this year, as an exception, on Saturday night.

A Joy And A Mission
Nicole Garcia President Of The Camera d'Or

Nicole Garcia
Nicole Garcia presides over the Jury for this year's Camera d'Or award. In accepting the task, the actress, director and screenwriter said: "Presiding over the Camera d'Or is an honour, a joy and a mission. I hope to be worthy of the honour, bask in the joy and do my best to deliver on the mission."
Since 1978, the Camera d'Or is awarded to the best debut film presented in the Official Selection (Competition, Out of Competition, or Un Certain Regard), Critics' Week or Directors' Fortnight.
The award showcases young filmmakers. The past recipients of the award include Jim Jarmusch, Mira Nair, Jaco Van Dormael, Naomi Kawase, Bahman Ghobadi and Steve McQueen. In 2013 the award went to Anthony Chen's Singaporean film Ilo Ilo which was in Directors' Fortnight.
Nicole Garcia studied philosophy and acting, winning her first acting award at the Conservatoire before embarking on a career in theatre. But she was drawn to film. She made a name for herself in Bertrand Tavernier's Let Joy Reign Supreme in 1975 and subsequently worked with directors Henri Verneuil (Body of My Enemy, 1976) and Laurent Heynemann (The Question, 1977). She went on to work with the great names of French cinema including Alain Resnais (My American Uncle, 1980), Bertrand Blier (Stepfather, 1981), Claude Lelouch (Bolero: Dance of Life, 1981), Pierre Schoendoerffer (A Captain's Honor, 1982), Claude Sautet (Waiter!, 1983) and Claude Miller (Little Lili, 2003).
In 1990, her behind-the-camera debut Every Other Weekend was released to critical acclaim, followed by the similarly well-received The Favorite Son in 1994. She has directed seven films, of which the latest, Going Away, was released in early 2014. As both actress and director, she has presented a total of seven films at Cannes.
The Camera d'Or 2014 will be presented at the Closing Ceremony on Saturday May 24.
Past Jury Presidents include Bong Joon-Ho, Gael Garcia Bernal, Carlos Diegues and Agnes Varda.


Contact  During  Cannes  2014  -  Riviera  Lerins  R20

Day 1 - May 14th
Click on Artwork To View Daily
Advertising New Slideshow Format

Contact Us | www.thebusinessoffilm.com | Unsubscribe

Copyright 2010 The Business of Film™ and Elspeth Tavares™ No portion of this online publication, or its printed matter, may be reproduced without
the exclusive permission or granting of reprinted rights from the publisher.  For licensing queries, please view the "Contact Us" page for the publisher's contact information.